top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturempcreate

Oh wait...how many miles?

Have i bitten off more than i can chew? This is something that was playing on my mind when I think about the 5TC Challenge ride. Can i complete the distance? will i have the legs? the lungs? the mindset to complete all 143 miles of the ride?


Doubts creeping in i knew that I had to try and settle a score with my inner thoughts. Put to bed the can i and the what ifs that i was faced with for the ride self doubt.


So i decided to try and ride a big mileage on road in one go. A chunky mileage ride of 130.

I have never ridden over 100 miles in one go and although that is the total road mileage for the trail centre challenge i felt that i needed to complete a big mileage ride in one go ahead of the challenge to try and train my mind that yes you can keep going even when you think you cant.


So who do i call to help me with such a quest, A rider that i have met through CX and who i admire as being such a strong willed person with a yes you can attitude and also she is

completely bonkers and loves a crazy idea..... So... I called my friend Fiona, and surprise surprise she was up for a 130 road ride at the weekend. (like i even had to ask)

We also roped in Paul who is probably on a similar wave length in terms of crazy :)


So we set out with a recommend route that was called two battles. It went passed Market Bosworth Battle site and also the Battle site in Naseby. The route was absolutely stunning and a good mix of undulating roads and beautiful scenery backdrops too. The weather was also perfect which helped massively.


We started the ride at 6am so we had enough time to complete the ride and get back late afternoon. The day was a perfect mix of riding and good company as we made our way around the route.


Using the fuel often and light whilst on the bike every 45mins or so seemed to serve me well in the morning and we stopped for a lunch stop at 65 miles. After lunch i felt ok for most of the ride until around 100 miles were my legs started to complain and also i started to suffer with a slight tummy ache that i assume came from the amount of energy electrolyte drink i had consumed. The last 30 miles were a bit tough as i wasn't feeling as sparky as i had previously.


Luckily i had my riding buddy Fiona to sing to me on the hills and help me climb. I have no idea how or why she sings Bat out of hell by Meatloaf on the most gruelling climbs (she actually does) but she does. As i said before she is bonkers and thats why i like her - Thanks Fiona x


So with a few rounds of meatloaf and rolling into Leamington parade to home i felt absolutely finished. Although tired i had completed the mileage along with Fiona and Paul and felt so grateful for being able to ride together as a group and also so happy to have completed the ride i set out to do.

Thank you both Fiona and Paul both of you were amazing and great wheels to follow :)


So a few nutrition lessons learnt from the ride such as more water and less electrolyte powders and also to remember sun cream (the tan lines are tragic trust me.


Only 2 weeks to go now and i am starting to gather all the kit and spares etc that i plan to put in the van. I will be posting about my bikes ahead of the ride and the prep items i plan to take too so stay tuned for that if you would like....


For now i am off for a steadier week and technique riding this weekend and then the final week countdown....


Out riding somewhere.....M


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page